Sundays with Mom and Dad

My usual routine on a Sunday is to go to my house of worship and afterwards spend the afternoon in my hometown of Opelousas. It is about a 35-40 minute drive each way. I take the highway and there is usually little or no traffic. I enjoy this quiet time on the highway. Sometimes,  I listen to music. Other times, if the weather permits, I open the sunroof and roll down the windows to let my hair blow in the wind. It is a freeing experience. As I drive I think about the fact that I am going to visit both my parents. At my age of 45, it is not uncommon to have lost one or both of your parents. I think about how blessed I am to have the opportunity to go and sit with them, to make small talk, to simply share a meal. I know that for some that this may sound like a common occurrence but I feel blessed and highly favored. Sometimes as adults we take our parents for granted. We get busy with life and forget to check up on our parents. I have been guilty of that at times myself. However, I try to make the most of every moment I get to spend with them. My dad is 79 and in a nursing home and my mom is 75. I look at them and see their fading youthfulness. I stare at them when they walk pass me and see a slower gait. I glimpse as they struggle to remember family events. Yes, Sunday’s with Mom and Dad are special because these are the moments I will cherish for years to come. I pray that God allows us many more sunny days together. If your parents are with you, appreciate them, honor them, and most importantly give them the gift of your time. Live, laugh, love…image

2 thoughts on “Sundays with Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

