Welcome Back!

IMG_2194I must admit that like most educators I know, after a long break it is difficult to get back in the swing of things.  The routine of having to have a schedule after not being on one for the last few weeks is hard to get adjusted to again.  However, today as I did my morning routine of rising early to pray, going to the gym, eating breakfast, drinking tea and getting ready for work, I felt a sense of gratitude about going back.  I sang on my twenty minute drive as I usually do, listening to the gospel melodies that play on the local radio station and was ready to welcome everyone with a beautiful smile and that I did.  What I didn’t know was there was something else waiting on campus-mold!  Yes, there was mold in the cafeteria, so the normal routine day that I was so ready to get back to was not in the cards.  There would be no eating in the cafeteria and no break time.  I know that this was all in the best interest in the safety of the staff and students, but in all actuality I was looking forward to a routine.  I had been going with the flow for the past few weeks and living life free of schedules.  But, the welcome back was short lived because we do not have school tomorrow.  Now, I have to go back on vacation for a day and try the welcome back again on Wednesday.  So much for getting back into the swing of things.  No, it was not the welcome back I had planned, but my plans are not always what is in the plans for me. Live, laugh, love…

One thought on “Welcome Back!

Leave a Reply

