Live the Dream

I have made it a point during the month of February in the last few years to take a journey, sometimes that journey involves traveling, sometimes the journey is just in my mind.  What I mean by that is that I reflect on my life as it relates to the betterment of society and sometimes I travel away from my home.  Traveling to a new place gives me a new perspective.  Sometimes I just sit at home and reflect on where my life is at the present and what direction I would like it to go in.  This year I decided to take a trip.  This trip was to Memphis, Tennessee.  I had always wanted to visit the city, but had not had the opportunity until recently.  I went to Memphis, a city rich with history.  It is in fact the last city, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was in.  I like the fact that the city has preserved the area of Dr. King’s assassination and is now the grounds of the National Civil Rights Museum.  As I stood on the pavement on the outside of the motel room where Dr. King last stayed, I had this uneasy feeling.  It’s as if I could feel his spirit-the “do something” spirit.  It made me feel as if there is so much more to be done in my life, not that I am not doing many things already-but I felt a higher calling, one that I, you, we must answer to.  Are we doing enough?  Are we truly living the dream that Dr. King wanted us to have?  Are we doing our part to live the dream?  What dreams have we not fulfilled? What dreams can we start working on today?  As Dr.King, so eloquently stated “You don’t have to see the whole staircase, you just have to take the first step.”  Start stepping in the direction of your dream.  You will sleep better.

Leave a Reply

