The Blessed Life

IMG_1663

Well, I have arrived in our nation’s capital.  This has been an amazing journey.  Last night, I stood on the rooftop of my daughter and her husband’s apartment in Arlington, VA.  As I looked at the city lights of the night, I was awestruck.  I wasn’t just awestruck that I could see the Washington Monument, the Capitol Building, Pentagon and Department of Homeland Security in the distance.  I was awestruck at the fact that I was able to share this moment in time with two of my children, my son-in-law, and my three grandchildren.  My grandkids were seeing this through a child’s eyes, marveling at the big buildings.  I was transported back to my teenage years.  It was then that I started to dream of a life so much different than the one I was living.  At the tender age of 15, I dreamed of a life that would be better for me and my then unborn child.  I dreamed of a life of travel.  I dreamed that I would be able to take her on adventures of a lifetime to faraway places.  I stood tonight and witnessed a dream turn into reality.  My now thirty-year old daughter and her three kids had come with me on a journey to visit her sister and husband.  It was as if the past and the present had transcended into one.  I could see that God had blessed not only me but my children and grandchildren as well.  I am looking forward to the next five days where the nation’s capital will be my home. I am living in a two bedroom fully furnished apartment directly across from the apartment building where my daughter lives. There is a theater on another floor, a conference room and gym.  We have plans to visit as many national monuments with the kids as we can and of course do some shopping. I have learned that if you “seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, all these things will be added unto you.” I am living the blessed life and I am so ever grateful.

Leave a Reply

