Loved and Lost

img_2618

My parents celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary last month and for most of us it is hard to fathom being with someone, just one person for that length of time.  For me, I haven’t been alive that long so it is difficult to imagine although looking at their lives I know that it is possible. There is this Zydeco song with the title “Loved and Lost”. I’m not sure who made it, but the lyrics are profound.  I know you don’t usually categorize profound lyrics and zydeco song in the same sentence but this particular song has those qualities. On one part of the song, the singer sings,

“I wanna dedicate this song,

To those who have loved and lost.

To those who have paid the cost,

Loved and lost. ”

I thought about those words and they are so true. When you are in love, everyday you risk losing that love, whether it be by chance or on purpose. I have paid the cost of love several times. I have loved and I have lost.  This year alone, I have loved, lost, loved, lost and loved again.  There is something powerful about being in love, so I try to stay on that frequency.  Now, the song goes on to say,

“God’s love is the only perfect love,

So trials you will go through.”

That statement is the most profound.  “God’s love is the only perfect love.”  I have spent my life trying to find the perfect love, and realizing that God’s love is the only perfect love has helped me tremendously in my current relationship.  You see, sometimes we look for people to give us things that only God can give.  His love is perfect and pure and will never disappoint.  Sadly, sometimes people will.  When you recognize this, you live life differently.   You let people off the hook and look to God for answers instead. I am thankful for the lessons I have been taught this year.   There have been some truly hard lessons to learn, but as I read in the Bible this morning in Hebrews 12:5-6

“Have you forgotten the encouraging words which God speaks to you as His children? My child, pay attention when the Lord corrects you and do not be discouraged when He rebukes you because the Lord corrects everyone He loves. and punishes everyone he accepts as a child.”

With this statement, I can look at life and love from a different perspective, knowing that because I am loved, I am corrected.  If I am going down the wrong path, God will pull me back to put me in right standing with Him.  Yes, my parents have been married for 60 years, but our family knows that it has not been without its share of correction.  Throughout their 60 years, they too have loved and lost and loved again.  They have persevered through many setbacks, trials and tribulations but can look back and share their experiences of how they managed to stay together. I believe it is because they have come to realize that God’s love is the only perfect love and with God’s love, you can never be lost.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

